Starch-free Christmas Cake

1

04/12/2012 by Katrina

Seems really mean to be blogging about COOKING a cake after todays terrible heat and humidity. Yikes! So thankful for air conditioning at work.

On to the cake: I have never like christmas cake. I am so sorry. I talked a little about that here. Currants, raisins and dryness – not the best mix in my mouth. I always scooped the custard out from around the cake and left the cake in the bottom of the bowl for dad. Perhaps I had strange taste buds cause up until a few years ago, I didn’t like croissants either – gasp!

I hadn’t thought much about christmas cake, and haven’t had any passing my lips for years (because when you are an adult you can make decisions like that).

One day, a christmas cake recipe popped up on my Farmer K’s Kitchen facebook feed from Sonia at Natural New Age Mum. I love her recipes and I have cooked many in the past with great, delicious success! I figured this christmas cake of hers would also be worth a try. As all “foodies” do, I played and tweaked and added flavours that I love. You can try this version, or you can head over to Sonia’s original recipe here and give that a whirl – you won’t be disappointed.

I made this christmas cake and was so stoked with the taste. It was moist and sweet! One of my friends had a taste, who isn’t into chrissy cake either, and she loved it. This cake is on my list of things to make for Christmas Day….with custard. I just need to find a starch-free custard recipe…anyone??Christmas Cake

Starch-free Christmas Cake

  • 2 cups sultanas
  • 2 cups white and dark chocolate chips
  • 1 cup craisins (cranberries)
  • 1 Tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 Tablespoon ginger
  • 1 Tablespoon cloves
  • 1 Tablespoon cardamom
  • 1 cup goji berries
  • 1 cup figs
  • 2 tablespoons cacao
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tbs of berry powder (I used Miracle Reds).
  • 2 1/2 cups strongly brewed Crio Bru (add the grains to the cake)
  • 2 cups almond flour
  1. Brew up the Crio Bru.
  2. Chop the figs in the Thermomix / food processor.
  3. Put the figs, sultanas and goji berries into the Crio Bru brew, cover and place in the fridge to soak overnight. The gojis and sultanas will go nice and plump.
  4. The next day…
  5. Preheat the oven to 170 degrees celsius and line a baking tin with baking paper (I used a square tin).
  6. Mix all the ingredients together and pour into the tin.
  7. Place the tin in the oven for 70 minutes (Sonia suggests covering your cake 1/2 way through the cooking time to prevent the fruit from burning).
  8. Cool the cake well before cutting it apart, otherwise the cake will crumble apart if it’s still warm.

And there you have it. A version of Sonia from Natural New Age Mum’s christmas cake with a Farmer Ks twist.

If you liked this cake, you would also love these starch-free Chai (not chia!) Cupcakes. My absolute favourite!!

signature

One thought on “Starch-free Christmas Cake

  1. Rebecca says:

    Oh Treens how I would love to make my Christmas Cake for you : )
    But it’s DEFINITELY not starch free : (
    P.S. LOVE your new blog layout. I just used it for mine too!
    Hope you’re well xo

Please Comment :)

