Sugarless Almond Pancakes

8

03/02/2013 by Katrina

Our Sunday mornings usually consist of some kind of pancakes for breakfast. I like to play around with a few variations that are gluten and starch-free – some more successful than others!  Last night I had a go at making a small batch of these Sugarless Almond Pancakes for dessert, and then we cooked up another lot for breakfast today. I think I have stumbled across a new fav!

Pancakes

While eating these this morning at the kitchen table, Kirk and I chat about how we prefer pancakes made with almond flour compared to the old-school flour ones. A much better texture and flavour. If you haven’t gone down the almond flour pancakes road yet, this would be the recipe for your maiden voyage.

Remember, if you don’t have almond flour you can make your own! Use blanched almonds in a food processor or Thermomix. I used almonds that had the skins on for these pancakes and it was delicious.

Sugarless Almond Pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond meal/almond flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup of milk/almond milk (we use the lovely, raw Cleopatra’s Bath Milk)
  • pinch of salt

Method:

Blend all the ingredients together in a bowl or thermomix until well combined.

Heat a pan over high heat and melt some butter or ghee.

Once the pan is hot, pour some batter into it and let the top of the batter bubble.

Flip pancake and cook on the other side.

To serve:

I made a pancake sandwich with St. Dalfour’s strawberry jam (ingredients: strawberries 55%, Grape Juice Concentrate, Fruit Pectin, Lemon Juice) spread in between each pancake. I then drizzled some pure maple syrup on top 🙂

Pancakes

signature

8 thoughts on “Sugarless Almond Pancakes

  1. These look delish Katrina….I must admit, everytime I try Almond Pancakes, they end up breaking to pieces and I throw them in the bin…I will give these a try for sure x

  2. Gwenda says:

    Yum yum yum… Your Dad was drooling over this!! 😳

    Sent from Gwenda’s iPhone

  3. toracullip says:

    Love pancakes! I love mine with strawberries and maple syrup and a side of sheeps yoghurt 🙂

  4. Shawn Marie says:

    These look AMAZING! Can’t wait til Sunday to try 😀

  5. Bree Hutton says:

    Sooo delish Treens – I was a bit ‘naughty’ and served these with passionfruit curd… My goodness, I’m in love! xxx

  6. Marion says:

    Hello !
    They looked so lovely I decided to give it a go. Unfortunately, flipping them turned out to be impossible, and although they tasted nice they ended up looking more like scrambled eggs than pancakes…
    Any idea where I might have gone wrong ???
    I didn’t blend the mixture, just whisked it by hand and it looked smooth enough so I didn’t bother blending, could that have made a difference ?
    Thanks !!

  7. Anna says:

    My batter turned out really runny so i ended up adding more almond meal… is it meant to be runny?

Please Comment :)

